Media Resources » Archive »

UT Presidential Search Committee Holds First Meeting; Appoints Search Advisory Council

June 24, 2010

KNOXVILLE -- The University of Tennessee Presidential Search Committee held its first meeting today and named the members of its Search Advisory Council.

The Presidential Search Committee was appointed today during the UT Board of Trustees annual meeting. The committee, to be chaired by Board of Trustees Vice Chair James Murphy III, will be assisted by the search firm Witt/Keiffer.

To view a list of members of the Presidential Search Committee click here.

The search committee will be assisted by a Search Advisory Council, which will be chaired by UT Trustee Spruell Driver Jr.

To view a list of members of the Search Advisory Council click here.

The search committee also reviewed a draft advertisement for the position.

UT trustees approved a recommended compensation package for the next president. It includes a base salary in the range of $420,000 to $450,000, a housing allowance of $20,000, and an expense allowance in the range of $12,000 to $16,000.

The trustees also set a budget of $212,375 for the presidential search with the goal of electing a new president at the October 2010 board meeting.

The search committee and advisory council will meet jointly at 12:45 p.m. EDT on Monday, June 28, in the Executive Dining Room at the University Center on the UT Knoxville campus. The agenda includes a briefing on the presidential search timeline and process, as well as a review of the draft advertisement for the position. For more information about the presidential search and a link to the webcast of this meeting, go to



Gina Stafford, (865) 974-0741,
Ellie Amador, (865) 974-1177,